To fill out the annual New Year’s survey and assess last year’s resolutions:

1. What did you do in 2014 that you’d never done before?
Moved to a new state with actual movers; threw a bridal shower; was a Maid of Honor; went through three pairs of shoes on Opening Day; saw Alton Brown live; did not buy a live Christmas tree; went to Puerto Rico; presented at a national conference; missed a flight;

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions and will you make more for this year?
I did and yes!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope not this year…I think 2015 will be a different story!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My Aunt Joan passed away in April.

5. What countries did you visit?
Puerto Rico is a territory, but felt out of the country!

6. What would you like to have in 2015 that you lacked in 2014?
Stamina and the body to run a half marathon. It is coming along!

7. What dates from 2014 will remain etched on your memory and why?
January 6th-Started at Miami of OH

July 30th-Matt’s surprise!

June 28th-Megan’s wedding

November 23rd-Bad News

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Running successful RA Selection processes!

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not getting my body baby ready

10. What was the best thing you bought?
Invitations to Matt’s party

11. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Matt, my co-workers and supervisor, my cousins, our friends

12. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
some of my students, some of my family

13. Where did most of your money go?
Bills and traveling….both worth it.

14. What did you get really, really excited about?
the new job, great speakers on campus, running the Half

15. What song will always remind you of 2014?
Shake it Off by Taylor Swift

16. Compared to this time last year are you:
i. happier or sadder? happier
ii. thinner or fatter? fatter
iii. richer or poorer? richer

17. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Reading…I loved my classes, but I wasn’t able to read for pleasure!

18. What do you wish you’d done less of?
worrying about things I can’t control

19. How will you be spending Christmas?
With the family

20. Did you fall in love in 2014?
I already was and still am….Matt is the love of my life and always will be.

21. How many one night stands?
None

22. What was your favorite tv program?
Grey’s and Scandal

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate at this time last year?
Not really

24. What was the best book you read?
The Bees, my books for class, Bad Feminist

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Didn’t really have one.

26. What did you want and get?
Motivation to run the Flying Pig Half

27. What did you want and not get?
A baby

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Frozen!

29. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
I turned 32! Did Behind Closed Doors all day then went to dinner with a former student from W&J

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Staying healthier

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
Business casual with athletic

32. What kept you sane?
Matt, my co-workers, Sarah, Meg and Kate

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Jennifer Lawrence is awesome

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
reproductive justice, healthcare

35. Who do you miss?
A lot of people

36. Who was the best new person you met?
All the new peeps at Miami!

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2014.
You can’t control the behavior of even the people you are closest to, so just take care of yourself.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
I never miss a beat
I’m lighting up my feet
And that’s what they don’t see
That’s what they don’t see
I’m dancing on my own
I make the moves as I go
And that’s what they don’t know
That’s what they don’t know
But I keep cruising
Can’t stop, won’t stop grooving
It’s like I got this music
In my mind, saying it’s gonna be alright
Cause the players gonna play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off
Heartbreakers gonna break, break, break
And the fakers gonna fake, fake, fake
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off, Shake it off

Now for resolutions (Italics are 2014′s, then responses, then 2015 will be at the bottom):

2014 Resolutions:

1. Don’t beat myself up about weight loss. For the past two years, I have talked about losing weight and every year I beat myself up for not doing it. No more…just focus on being healthy. If the weight comes off while doing that, well great, but it’s not the focus.

I have done this..and I feel really good about it. It will be continued for 2015!

2. Integrate myself into the Miami community.

Doing this by advising F-Word, hanging out at the Women’s Center and going to events on campus!

3. Apply to present at a national conference.

I did and was successful! I presented with three other people “Providing Love and Labor to the Women’s Center” at the NWSA Conference in Puerto Rico this fall!

4. Pull off my plan for August.

It turned out to be in July, but it happened…surprised Matt with an early 40th birthday party!

2015 Resolutions:

1. Don’t beat myself up about weight loss. For the past two years, I have talked about losing weight and every year I beat myself up for not doing it. No more…just focus on being healthy. If the weight comes off while doing that, well great, but it’s not the focus.

2. Run a strong Flying Pig Half Marathon. The important part is that I finish.

3. Continue to focus on being a supportive family member.

4. Take my student group to the next level.

Here’s to a new year…I hope it is happy and healthy for all!

