When I was a college sophomore, I convinced Leigh to go to a performance of The Vagina Monologues. I didn’t really know what I was getting into, but I had friends in it and it sounded fun, so we went, with him grumbling the whole time. His reaction to the show should have been a big ‘ol red flag, but that’s another story. I, on the other hand, was captivated, but intimidated. I had no idea about V-Day, or the movement around the show. I just knew I liked it.

Fast forward 5 years to my first year at W&J. I’m working late in my office when the Assistant Dean comes by and asks me if I’m going to the Vagina Monologues interest meeting. I told her I thought it was only for students and she encouraged me to come. I met Lisa, the volunteer coordinator for the Washington Women’s Shelter that night, and decided to be part of this revolution.

2012 marked my 5th year performing in the The Vagina Monologues and my 4th year advising a group of students on a college campus performing it. For me, the event has grown year after year. We had our most successful V-Week yet, sold out our shows and had our largest cast yet.

One of the 30 before 30 list was to 16. Personally raise $100 for V-Day 2012. Now, I didn’t go out and solicit donations…I have never been good at that. But I did do a couple of things that would certainly add up to a $100.

3 people came to the show to see me specifically: $30

I baked 72 cupcakes for our bake sale that we sold at $2 a pop. We sold 60: $120

I definitely hit my goal on this one and I am so proud of it. I’m even prouder of my students. 90 of them came together to put on this show and while it was unwieldy at times, they came together to put on a fabulous performance that made last year’s producer cry through the last 3 monologues. I think that no matter where I go, I will find a way to be involved with this production.

For more information on the movement, check out http://www.vday.com or youtube The Vagina Monologues. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Viva la Vagina!

