I had planned on writing about the NEACUHO Women’s Winter Renewal Retreat today..it was another amazing experience and I’ll talk about it shortly, but I want to talk about #oneword2012 first.

I found #oneword2012 via #sachat, a group of student affairs professionals who connect on twitter using that hashtag. Teri Bump has a great blog post explaining how to get to your #oneword, but it is basically getting away from the resolution model and into the idea of using a word to guide you through your experiences of the year.

My #oneword2012 is MOTIVATION.

I tweeted my word on Tuesday, but didn’t really think about how I was going to find my motivation that I have been so lacking. I had felt so unmotivated over the holidays and didn’t know how to kick myself into gear.

I had high hopes for the WWR…I’ve been going to this retreat since I ended up in NEACUHO and had always enjoyed it. I loved that I could sit down and pick the brains of female leaders in our organization and learn from their experiences.

The retreat was at Southern New Hampshire University this year so I headed up on Thursday night so I wouldn’t have to get up super early on Friday. Thanks to Heather I have gotten to know quite a few of the Hall Directors at Quinnipiac, so I connected with Megan on Twitter and we carpooled over to the social. We grabbed a drink and chatted with some people and then decided we were hungry and wanted a full meal. We found this place called Strange Brew Tavern on Yelp and since Megan also appreciates a good beer, we decided to check it out. After a few wrong turns, we made it and ended up splitting their Fruit Tree beer flight. It was pretty delicious and the food was good too.

The day started early and there was actually snow on the ground! Not so exciting for the ride over, but drivable. I cut out nametags, then grabbed some breakfast. We went around the room and introduced ourselves and we all giggled as we realized I was exactly in the middle of all the Quinnipiac folks. The first speaker was Dr. Mary Beth Cooper, the Executive Vice President of Student Affairs, who is awesome. She spoke at the Annual and I’ve had a crush since then. She talked about setting goals and how to set yourself up for success.

The next speaker that really spoke to me was Beth Moriarity. Beth is the Dir. of Res Life at Bridgewater State. She talked about going back to get your doctorate and it reminded me of how much I want to go back. And she did it all with a family and a full-time job. It was really inspiring.

I left the retreat in awe of the amazing role models we have in NEACUHO. I was inspired to do more and get on my game for the rest of the semester.

My motivation moment came this morning though. I had my last follow up with the podiatrist after my surgery. We talked about me wearing my orthotics, how well my bone had healed and at the end I asked about exercise and he said sweetest words I had heard in a while. “You can do whatever you want, no restrictions.” I almost jumped out the chair, I was so excited. I swear the sky was bluer on my ride back to the office.

I went to the gym today and started slow. I did Couch to 5K Week 1, Day 1….nice and light 30 second runs with minute walking breaks. It felt so, so good to be in control of my body again. Granted, my foot is going to be sore and he told me to expect that, but I didn’t feel like I was going to fall apart.

So there’s my motivation…having control of my body and my fate…it took me awhile to figure it out, but I’m so glad it did. Here’s to a strong 2012.

