For those of you who have known me for awhile, you know I have an aversion to vegetables. My friend Megan will tell you stories about how when we lived together 7(!) years ago, she was the only one who brought vegetables into the house. I would eat the occasional salad and eat boiled green beans dipped in apple sauce, but that was pretty much my limit. She made me try avocado (blech) and other stuff that I apparently don’t remember. She claims I made chicken nuggets for dinner every night. Not true, by the way, I made shark for Musso for dinner one night. But yes, I had poor, poor vegetable eating habits.

When I realized I was gaining weight in grad school, I tried to incorporate more vegetables into my diet. It was a lot of carrots and more green beans. When I met Matt, he somehow convinced me to try other things. I learned the beauty of sauteeing with olive oil and garlic (spinach and green beans and snow peas), about hiding vegetables in soup (celery and carrots) and even eating salad thanks to his mother’s fresh from the garden greens. I learned about spaghetti squash from Skinny Emmie, and was reminded of my love of zucchini by my mother. I learned to eat raw tomatoes with garlic and mozzarella and even found a way to eat sweet potatoes.

We’ve had a butternut squash sitting in the fruit bowl for a few weeks and I decided to do something with last night. I had heard that it was amazing roasted, so I went searching for Roasted Butternut Squash soup recipes. I didn’t end up following any of them to the T, but came up with this instead:

Roasted Butternut Squash and Tomato Soup

3 tbsp olive oil
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 pint of cherry tomatoes
1 small onion
1 clove of garlic, minced
2 slices center cut bacon, chopped
4 cups low sodium, fat-free chicken broth
2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp chipolte powder
1 tsp smoked paprika

1. Preheat oven to 425. On a baking sheet, toss cubed squash and tomatoes with 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp pepper, 1 tsp salt and chipolte powder. Roast in oven for approximately 30 minutes, until squash is fork tender.

2. In dutch oven, saute bacon and onion with 1 tbsp olive oil until soft, then add garlic. Saute until garlic is fragrant, then add chicken broth. Add squash and tomatoes. Bring to boil, then lower heat to simmer for 10 minutes.

3. At this point, I used my immersion blender to bring everything together, but a regular blender will do just fine…just make sure you don’t burn yourself!

4. Add pepper, salt and paprika to taste, then serve with croutons or warm crusty bread.

Not the best picture since I remembered halfway through eating that I wanted to take pictures of it…I promise the next time I make it I will post better ones in this post!

