To fill out the annual New Year’s survey and assess last year’s resolutions:

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Cooked an entire Thanksgiving dinner for 9 people (with help from Matt and Mama Bunn), had surgery where I was actually knocked out, started a weight lifting program, made homemade gifts for people for Christmas, grew a zucchini, camping with friends

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions and will you make more for this year?
I kept to about half of them…see below for response to last year’s and this year’s resolutions.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No one close to me gave birth in 2011…although there were definitely new babies in my Facebook feed this year!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
It still hurts my heart to talk about Uncle Gerry’s death

5. What countries did you visit?
Just the USA

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
More motivation…I need to get motivated to get this body baby ready…because I would really like there to be either or a baby or the beginning of a healthy pregnancy in 2012

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched on your memory and why?
Feb 14-19-V-Week and Vagina Monologues
Feb 19-Uncle Gerry passes away
May 16-22-Spring Give ‘n Go Program
June 10-Presenting at NEACUHO
Aug 7-Birthday Camping Weekend
Aug 27-Hurricane Irene
Sept 17-Fire Company Anniversary
Oct 15-Run for the Penguins with Darcie
Nov 2-Surgery
Nov 24-Thanksgiving for 9!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Vag Mons and Give ‘n Go and SELECTION

9. What was your biggest failure?
Unfortunately, it is still weight related….I need to find something that is going to keep me motivated and going throughout the year and not just a few weeks at a time.

10. What was the best thing you bought?
Gas for my car…to get to Lebanon to say goodbye to Uncle Gerry, to go to Pittsburgh to visit our friends and family, to go to Rochester for NEACUHO, to go camping this summer, to see Kevin and Kelsey…I’m so glad that we’ve been able to make these trips

11. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Matt, my co-workers and supervisor, my cousins, our friends

12. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
some of my students

13. Where did most of your money go?
Bills and traveling….both worth it.

14. What did you get really, really excited about?
V-Week and Vag Mons, SGNG, camping, the 30 Before 30 list, Penguin Run, Thanksgiving

15. What song will always remind you of 2011?
“Hear You Me” by Jimmy Eat World

16. Compared to this time last year are you:
i. happier or sadder? about the same
ii. thinner or fatter? fatter
iii. richer or poorer? richer

17. What do you wish you’d done more of?
taking pictures-I’m falling behind on my 365 project!

18. What do you wish you’d done less of?
worrying about the little things

19. How will you be spending Christmas?
With the family

20. Did you fall in love in 2011?
I already was and still am….Matt is the love of my life and always will be.

21. How many one night stands?
None

22. What was your favorite tv program?
Grey’s and GLEE!

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate at this time last year?
Not really

24. What was the best book you read?
Starting Game of Thrones is definitely topping the list this year…I’m starting on the last book in the series so far and I’m hoping George RR Martin does not keep us waiting another 7 years for the next installment.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Didn’t really have one.

26. What did you want and get?
Matt got a job that did not involve overnights!

27. What did you want and not get?
A mid-level position

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Definitely The Muppets

29. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
I turned 29! And I was camping with Kevin, Kelsey and Rayleigh…I actually forgot it was my birthday until Kelsey wished me a Happy Birthday that morning! I also posted the 30 Before 30 list here.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Losing weight like I had promised myself I would.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
Business casual with athletic

32. What kept you sane?
Matt, my co-workers, Sarah, Meg and Kate

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
None really

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
Health care reform, the war

35. Who do you miss?
A lot of people

36. Who was the best new person you met?
More NEACUHO peeps and our new Sustainability Coordinator, Josh

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
Tell people you love them…and don’t hold grudges…you never know when you will have to say goodbye forever.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
And if you were with me tonight,
I’d sing to you just one more time.
A song for a heart so big,
god wouldn’t let it live.
May angels lead you in.
Hear you me my friends.
On sleepless roads the sleepless go.
May angels lead you in.

Now for resolutions (Italics are 2011’s, then responses, then 2012 will be at the bottom):
1. Get my body baby-ready:

  • That means improving my nutrition (more fruit and vegetables, less processed crap going into my system).
  • Working with my chiropractor to work out my hip problems. I’d like to be able to work through my pregnancy, which means I still need to be able to walk. With my hips and back the way they are now, I would be having trouble walking near the end.
  • Continuing to exercise. I’d like to get back to running eventually, but I’ll settle for walking until my hips are more healed.
  • Taking care of health problems when they come up instead of pushing through them. *knocks on wood* I haven’t had a cold or flu yet this winter and I’m hoping I can make it through the rest of the season without one.

I am definitely not baby body ready. I did work out my hip problems and I will continue to work on strengthening them and I did exercise pretty consistently until my foot surgery. And I have been more proactive about taking care of health problems!

2. Continue my professional development:

  • I love the work I’m doing with NEACUHO and want to continue it for as long as I’m in the region. That means attending things like the Women’s Retreat next Friday and the Annual Conference in June.
  • Continue to work on projects like V-Week and Spring Give ‘n Go to give depth to my resume.
  • Begin to look into mid-level positions and what experiences I need to move into them.

I definitely did this…I presented at NEACUHO this past year, went to the Women’s Retreat (and will be going again at the end of this week), presented at the RA conference, made V-Week, SGNG and the Women’s Center stronger on my resume and looked into mid-level positions and had on-campus interviews for 4 of them.

3. Sustain and improve relationships with friends and family. This one’s easy-call more, travel more.

This happened too…we went to Lebanon twice in February, went to Pittsburgh in March, went camping 3 times, visited Kevin and Kelsey 3 times, stopped to see Sean and Laura a few times on our trips to Lehigh Valley and hosted Thanksgiving.

4. Save more money. Matt and I put a big dent in our debt after the wedding and we’d like to get it down to just my car loan and student loan debt by the end of this year as well as put money into our emergency fund and family fund.

I would say we are about the same. We’re still not down to just car loan and student loan debt just yet, but we are still saving consistently and we’re going to tighten our belts a little bit in the coming months to have a good amount of savings for moving expenses (hopefully) this summer in case it takes a little bit longer for Matt to find something new if we do move.

2012 Resolutions:

1. Seriously, I need to kick ass on this 30 pound loss. I have been saying it for 2 years and have made all sorts of excuses for not following through. Too many family deaths and a wedding in July need to be my motivators.

2. Do the majority of the 30 before 30 list…I know there are some things on the list that are going to be a reach for me e.g. I need to work on getting a new passport if I want to travel outside the US. And Matt is a little worried I’m going to kill his new clutch if teaches me to drive stick shift. But I’ll work on it.

3. Keep track of the books I read. Goodreads is super easy to use and I can search by ISBN number if I need to. It will make it easier to keep count and to give recommendations to friends.

4. Try more new vegetables…maybe I’ll retry brussell sprouts?

