I had been hearing about the New Rules of Lifting for Women (NROLFW) in the fitness blogosphere for awhile. I’ve never felt like much of a weightlifter…other than bicep curls and shoulder presses, I never spent much time with any sort of weight machine. I was ready to try something new workout wise, and picked up the book at 30% off at Borders.

I thought it was going to be a dry read and I seriously considered skipping right to the workouts, but I’m glad I didn’t. It was actually a pretty enjoyable. The author is engaging and recognizes that if you’re reading this, you’re serious about taking control of your fitness destiny. (Wow, that was corny.)

I started the workouts about 3 weeks ago. You’re supposed to do them every other day, and I was consistent for about 2 weeks before I got the viral infection and took a week off. I’ve completed 6 workouts completely and I’ve already seen marked improvement from Week 1 to Week 3. Workout 1 called for 2 sets of 15 squats. I did those at body weight for the first workout and was definitely feeling them by the end. Workout 3 called for 2 sets of 12 squats. I did those with 15 pound weights in each hand at shoulder height. If I had been able to use the squat bar, I probably could have added on another 10 pounds. So it definitely works to challenge you and strengthen you.

I also did prone jackknifes in front of the entire gym. Go look up what those are. See why that is a big deal? Those things are killer, but they WORK.

I’m really proud of completing things like deadlifts, and pulling down 55 pounds in wide grip lat pulldowns, but I will be even prouder if I finish this program. I think I am on my way, even if my should be 2 day breaks are occasionally 5 day breaks.

My colleagues and I are holding each other accountable with Weight Watchers and I had a solid first day. I was on plan for the majority of the day and counted every single meatball I ate tonight. My husband makes delicious meatballs…veal, pork, ground beef, bread crumbs, garlic and parsley. They were fabulous and we froze A LOT. Our freezer is officially full.

We actually planned out our menu for the week too. Since we have so much stuff in our freezer, we figured we should start eating out of it more often. Hopefully this will help us make less trips to the grocery store and use some of the recipes out of the 25 cookbooks plus 100 some recipes in the binder torn out of magazines. Can you tell we like to cook?

I’m looking forward to Friday. I took the day off and I’m going to make Kelsey cookies, maybe pumpkin bread or muffins and pack to head to upstate NY to see Kev and Kels. We’re going apple picking and just hanging out. It’ll be nice to not worry about work for a weekend and play with an adorable baby and be with good friends.

D and I are going for a practice run for the Penguin Run on Wednesday. It’ll be nice to run with someone who’s going around my pace. If I’m running with someone, it’s usually my brother or sister, who both run competitively, so I get left behind and they come back to find me. I’m okay with going slow right now, because you need a base to go faster.

Tomorrow is crazy, Wednesday is pretty full and Thursday is blissfully empty of meetings…and I am SO looking forward to it.

