Tags

, , ,

How many of you watch NBC’s Biggest Loser? I wasn’t into the first few seasons, but after making the decision to really get on board with the healthiness journey, I started watching a few shows. I was inspired by the work people who were 3 times my size were doing, the blood, sweat and tears they were putting into their weight loss. 4 years ago, it’s what was really pushing me to go to the gym every day. I was really dedicated to Weight Watchers at the time so it was all coming together easily for me and weight was dropping. I thought I could really be like those Biggest Losers and take it all off. And I was, for awhile. And life moved in and it all came back.

Don’t get me wrong, I like to exercise. I will happily get sweaty in a Spin class, jump around like a fool in Zumba and jump until I can’t sit down doing P90X Plyometrics. But I don’t like it enough to do it consistently. This is what I am jealous of the folks on Biggest Loser. They have all the time in the world to exercise.

As I continue to struggle with my eating issues though, the one thing that I’ve noticed about the show is that there is not a lot of footage of them eating. Yes, you see them eating Subway (corporate sponsor) or being taught to cook by Curtis Stone (celebrity chef) but it’s very rare to see them go make their own choices. Their “breakthroughs” all happen at the gym, not at the kitchen table. This is probably what bothers me most about the show now. That has turned into a game that is all about the exercise. It gives people the idea that exercise is going to be the one key difference. That they can go out and exercise for 6 hours a day and eat Subway and lose all this weight rapidly.

That’s not how a lifestyle change works. You have to work, and take care of your family….if you’re losing 10 pounds in a week, you’re not doing it the right way. I can’t say that I haven’t been drawn into thinking about quick fixes. It would be awesome to do something for a week, and go fit into jeans that I haven’t worn since grad school.

I know for me, that means working on my food issues. I have no self-control when it comes to food. My poor Weight Watchers account is active and silent. I need to pack my lunch and eat it. I need to go to the gym, whether that is before work, during lunch, or after work. I know it can be done, I just need help.

I believe the Biggest Loser is good television. But it shouldn’t be seen as a solution to a problem. Just an inspiration.

