On October 23, 2010, I married love of my life. We had a beautiful, exhausting, love-filled, crazy day, and I will never forget it. I wrote about it here and of course, threw tons of pictures up on Facebook. I had amazing vendors (Lauren Liese Photography, Natalie Diener Weddings and Events) and we also had amazing friends and family.

Things just my mother did:

-Bake a 4 tier cake and ice it in the design we requested.

-Create beautiful corsages for herself, my MIL, SIL, grandmother and our godmothers.

-Made the Unity candle, ring bearer pillow, and flower girl baskets.

-Modified the flower girl dresses to add a red sash.

-Sewed the buttons on my brother’s uniform the morning of the wedding.

-Created a card box to be a paper version of Fallingwater.

To say my mom did a lot is an understatement. And she had the time of her life that day.

Our friends were amazingly supportive and had a great time as well, which was key for us.

Sunday was our 1 year anniversary and we wanted to make sure it was a special day. We woke up late thanks to a late night for me on-call, then got ready for the day. Had lunch in Harris, then headed to the grocery store to restock on staples. We headed home and put away groceries, then started to get ready for our 7:30 dinner reservation at Bravo Bravo. I saw a pin on pinterest about a couple that took a picture with a picture from the year before year after year and I loved it, so I made sure I printed an 8×10 of our wedding photo to take with us to the restaurant.

Before we left, we exchanged presents.

My present to Matt.

 

Matt's present to me. There are also pearls that are not pictured.

Then we headed to our delicious dinner! We ordered a Bellini Martini and Manhattan and started with their Baked Mozzarella as an appetizer. I wish I had pictures, but I think I’m going to make this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving! Melty cheese and crusty bread and bright tomatoes…it was lovely. I ordered the shrimp “paisano” for my entree, which was 6 baked shrimp with bread and cheese topping on them with warm olive oil. So, so good. Matt ordered the veal ravioli. It had all his favorite elements: pasta, red sauce, veal, mushrooms and goat cheese. We ended with cheesecake for Matt and chocolate lava cake torte for me. I was stuffed at the end, but it was so worth it.

Frida was nice enough to hold the phone for me for the rest of the night, so we got to go home and drink the champagne we have been saving for a year. I remembered too late that we had cake in the freezer, but I went down and emptied the freezer to get to it anyways and we ate it on Monday night. It was still good after a year in the freezer!

Here is the first of what I hope is many photo within a photo pictures on our anniversary!

